Ray Page Lifetime Simulation Achievement Award

The Ray Page Lifetime Simulation Achievement Award is presented in recognition of an outstanding contribution, made over an extended period of time, to the advancement of modelling and simulation within Australasia.

The award is named after the inaugural winner, Mr Ray Page, who spent his career advancing the use of flight simulators and leading the development of international standards whilst at Qantas, and then as the founding Chairman of the then Simulation Industry Association of Australia (SIAA).

This is a prestigious award, and is only presented if a candidate meeting the criteria is nominated.

Recent Recipients

2015 Ray Page Award Recipient – Professor Harry Owen

Professor Harry Owen is one of the most published health simulation researchers in Australia. He established the first simulation facility in Australia in 1999 specifically for entry level medical education at Flinders University. He then went on to champion the implementation of ePortfolios in the field. Further to his outstanding achievements, his recent research focus has been the history of simulation including writing a much anticipated publication on the subject due for release in 2016.

Professor Harry Owen (right) with Marcus Watson (Simulation Australasia Chair)


2014 Ray Page Award Recipient – Professor Debra Nestel

For over thirty years, Professor Debra Nestel has demonstrated vision, integrity and leadership through her commitment to healthcare simulation education and research. She has developed an approach to learning, teaching and assessing clinical skills – ‘patient-focused simulation’ – that is now adopted internationally, Debra has raised the profile of simulated patients in healthcare professions education and has led a unique initiative – a national training program for simulation educators.

Professor Debra Nestel with Adrian Smith (Chairman for Simulation Australia)

Previous Ray Page Award Recipients

  • 2013 - Professor John R. Sturgul
  • 2012 - Professor Tony Jakeman
  • 2011 - Alan Johnson
  • 2006 - Lucien Zalcman
  • 2005 - Ray Page