Simulation Achievement Award

The Simulation Achievement Award is for significant contribution to the advancement of modelling and simulation within Australasia.

Recent Recipients

2016 Achievement Award Recipient – Philip Swadling

Philip Swadling has over twenty years’ experience in technical and engineering management in complex multinational simulation related projects. His experience also includes establishing and implementing business level technical strategy plans and research and development projects. He currently holds the position of Technical Director, Avionics with Thales Australia, as well as being active on a number of Thales international simulation working groups. Philip is a member of the Institution of Engineers Australia and of the Institute of Electrical and Electronics Engineers. He was convenor of SimTecT for 2003 through to 2005, has been a regular peer reviewer of conference papers, a Board member of Simulation Australasia from 2008 until 2014 and was honoured as a Simulation Australasia Life Member in 2016.

Philip Swadling (centre) with John Stewart (SimAust CEO) and Mike Brennan (SimAust Chair)


2015 Achievement Award Recipient – Marnie Connolly

Marnie Connolly is Deputy Director & Senior Clinical Coordinator at Monash University School of Rural Health, Bairnsdale. Marnie has been dedicated to improving simulation education and providing leadership in the rural sector for over a decade. Marnie’s leadership and pioneering work to develop simulation education in the East Gippsland area continues to play a pivotal role in the local education of the health disciplines (including nursing, medicine and ambulance training).

Marnie Connolly with Marcus Watson (Simulation Australasia Chair)


2014 Achievement Award Recipient – Dr Hans de Visser

Hans de Visser, a research scientist in biomechanics, has been working for the last seven years on surgical simulation and anatomical models. He was the main research scientist and project leader of the CSIRO colonoscopy simulator, now licensed to Surgical Science. The simulator has been evaluated and used in more than 30 hospitals around the world today, and will contribute to the battle against colorectal cancer in Australia. We would like to thanks Hans de Visser for his exceptional contribution to make a virtual simulator a real medical training tool.

Dr Hans de Visser with Adrian Smith (Chairman for Simulation Australia)


Previous Achievement Award Recipients

  • 2013 - Dr Kerry Reid-Searl
  • 2012 - Shawn Parr
  • 2011 - Dr Geoff McDonnell, and Dr Richard Riley
  • 2010 - Ralph Macdonald, Mike Renie, and Leonie Watterson
  • 2007 - Brendan Flanagan, Grant Tudor, and Karol Miller